About the Office

Learn about opportunities sponsored by the Chancellor's Office and about former UNC-Chapel Hill leaders.

Office of the Chancellor Organizational Chart

View the organizational chart here.

Chancellor's Fellow Program

Background information

Chancellor Folt with the 2018-2019 Chancellor’s Fellows: Sarah Leck, Emily Summers and Tanner Glenn.

Established in 2014 by Chancellor Carol L. Folt, the Chancellor’s Fellowship provides a unique opportunity for talented graduating seniors to explore and understand the inner workings of a higher education institution. Fellows have regular interaction with senior leadership and are assigned to projects both within the Chancellor’s Office and in other units across the University. While assignments vary, Chancellor’s Fellows engage in meaningful work and develop a variety of project management skills in addition to advanced critical thinking, research and writing skills.

The Chancellor’s Fellowship is a full-time position with salary and benefits. Fellows interact with a variety of Carolina constituencies including senior officers, faculty, staff, students, alumni and community members, and have many opportunities for personal growth and career development.

If you have any questions about the program or the application process, please email chancellor@unc.edu.

Application Information

See the job description and apply for a 2018-19 Chancellor’s Fellowship

  • Austin Mueller
  • Janssen White
  • Dale Bass
  • Rachel Gogal
  • Julia Stroup
  • Emily Auerbach
  • Olivia Farley
  • Katrina Hauprich
  • Christy Lambden
  • Katherine Phillips
  • Lara Taylor

Chancellor's Science Scholars

The Chancellor’s Science Scholars program provides financial and academic support to encourage talented underrepresented students to pursue Ph.D. or M.D./Ph.D. degrees in science and mathematics. Through the program, scholars are immersed in research opportunities early in their Carolina careers, both on and off campus.

The Chancellor’s Science Scholars program is based in the College of Arts and Sciences and is modeled after the nationally recognized Meyerhoff Scholars Program at the University of Maryland-Baltimore County.

Learn more about the Chancellor’s Science Scholars Program and how to become a scholar at the Chancellor’s Science Scholar website.

Student Advisory Committee to the Chancellor

The Student Advisory Committee to the Chancellor is a forum for student leaders to identify issues, challenges, and successes relevant to the student body and the University, and work collaboratively and strategically with the Chancellor and University leadership about how to best address them.

Previous Presidents and Chancellors

Presiding Professors

David Ker1794-1796
Charles W. Harris1796 (July – Dec.)
Joseph Caldwell1796 – 1797
James S. Gillespie1797 – 1799
Joseph Caldwell1799 – 1804


Joseph Caldwell1804-1812
Robert Hett Chapman1812-1816
Joseph Caldwell1816-1835
Elisha Mitchell (Acting)1835 (Feb. – Dec.)
David Lowry Swain1835-1868
Solomon Pool1869-1872
Charles Phillips1875-1876
Kemp Plummer Battle1876-1891
George Tayloe Winston1891-1896
Edwin Anderson Alderman1896-1900
Francis Preston Venable1900-1913
Edward Kidder Graham (Acting)1913-1914
Edward Kidder Graham1914-1918
M.H. Stacy

Held the title chairman of the faculty; authorized by the trustees to have all of the powers of the presidency.

Harry Woodburn Chase1919-1930
Frank Porter Graham1930-1934

Chancellor, UNC-Chapel Hill

Robert Burton House
Dean of Administration1934-1945
William Brantley Aycock1957-1964
Paul F. Sharp1964-1966
J. Carlyle Sitterson1966-1972
N. Ferebee Taylor1972-1980
Christopher C. Fordham1980-1988
Paul Hardin1988-1995
Michael Hooker1995-1999
William O. McCoy (Acting & Interim)1999-2000
James Moeser2000-2008
Holden Thorp2008-2013