Responsibilities and Members Search Advisory Committees

Each of the search advisory committees listed below provides advice and feedback concerning candidates and other aspects of the search as requested by the chancellor. The role of the search advisory committee is to:

  • Provide advice to the chancellor or the chancellor’s designee concerning the skills, abilities, and attributes identified as desirable in candidates for the position.
  • Identify and nominate individuals to be considered for the position, ensuring that names of potential candidates remain confidential.
  • Provide such feedback as may be requested by the chancellor concerning nominees in the candidate pool.
  • Engage with candidates and represent the University.
  • Facilitate an expeditious and fair search.
  • Following candidate screening, meet with candidates for the purpose of providing advice and feedback to the chancellor.

Search advisory committees do not engage in a final decision-making role.

  • Under UNC System policy, neither the chancellor nor the Board of Trustees have independent authority to select and appoint senior academic and administrative officers on their own initiative; rather, the Board of Trustees votes to accept or reject the candidate recommended and presented to the board by the chancellor.
  • For Tier 1 Senior Academic and Administrative Officer Selections, the chancellor is responsible for recommending one candidate to the Board of Trustees. This is a candidate that the chancellor believes will best meet the needs of the University under the circumstances. The chancellor will generally arrive at a recommendation through use of a recruitment and review process supported by a search advisory committee.

Committee members for ongoing executive searches are listed below. Each of these committees is in the process of selecting or reviewing candidates. Use the list on the left to navigate to each search committee.

Vice Chancellor for Research

The following individuals have been asked to serve on the committee co-chaired by Shelley Earp III, MD, Director, UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center Director, UNC Cancer Care Lineberger Professor of Cancer Research, Professor of Medicine & Pharmacology, and Jillian L. Dempsey, Bowman and Gordon Gray Distinguished term professor and Deputy Director of the Center for Hybrid Approaches in Solar Energy to Liquid Fuels.

  • Douglas MacKay, Associate Professor, Department of Public Policy
  • Karla Slocum, Thomas Willis Lambeth Distinguished Chair, Dept of Anthropology. Senior Assoc Dean for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
  • Mohanish Deshmukh, Professor
  • Elizabeth Engelhardt, Senior Associate Dean for Fine Arts and Humanities, Kenan Eminent Distinguished Professor
  • Don Hobart, Associate Vice Chancellor for Research
  • Kathleen Harris, James Haar Distinguished Professor
  • Wendy Brewster, Director, Center for Women’s Health Research Associate Director Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center, Professor, Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology Director, Center for Women’s Health Research Associate Director Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
  • Ramona Denby-Brinson, PhD, Dean and Distinguished Professor
  • Johna Register-Mihalik, Associate Professor, Exercise and Sport Science, Co-Director, STAR Heel Performance Laboratory, Core Faculty, Matthew Gfeller Center & Injury Prevention Research Center, Traumatic Division Director, National Center for Catastrophic Sport Injury Research
  • Kathryn E. (Beth) Moracco, PhD, MPH, Associate Professor, Department of Health Behavior; UNC Gillings School of Global Public Health; and Associate Director, UNC Injury Prevention Research Center
  • Greg Characklis, William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor
  • Ralph Baric, William R. Kenan Jr. Distinguished Professor
  • Kim Brouwer, R. Kenan, Jr., Distinguished Professor, Associate Dean for Research and Graduate Education
  • Nicholas Shaheen, Chief, Gastroenterology and Hepatology; Co-Director, NC TraCS
  • Victor Garcia-Martinez, Director, International Center for the Advancement of Translational Science
  • Jennifer Leeman, Professor and Interim Associate Dean for Research
  • Donald Lysle, Ph.D, Kenan Distinguished Professor
  • Joseph Kieber, Distinguished Professor
  • Gregory P. Copenhaver, Chancellor’s Eminent Professor of Convergent Science Director, Institute for Convergent Science Associate Dean for Research and Innovation, CAS

Kenan-Flagler Business School Dean

The following individuals have agreed to serve on the search committee for the Dean of Kenan Flagler Business School. The committee is co-chaired by Lissa Broome, Co-Chair, Burton Craige Distinguished Professor, School of Law and  Co-Director Dan K. Moore Program  and Jack Evans, Co-Chair, Emeritus Faculty, Kenan-Flagler Business School.

  • Jeff Allred, Board of Advisors, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Michelle Bolas, Executive Director, Innovate Carolina and Chief Innovation Officer, UNC-Chapel Hill
  • Kit Bredrup, Board of Advisors, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Norris Bruce, Professor of Marketing, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Udanda Clark, Partner, Ernst & Young
  • Alison Fragale, Associate Professor of Organizational Behavior, Mary Farley Ames Lee Distinguished Scholar, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Jordan Hale, Assistant Dean, Undergraduate Business Program, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Taylor Jackson, President, MBA Student Association, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Saravanan Kesavan, Professor of Operations and Assistant Dean of the Full-Time MBA Program, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Marty Kotis, Board of Trustees Member, UNC-Chapel Hill
  • Chris McClure, Chief Strategist, UNC-Chapel Hill
  • Paige Ouimet, Professor of Finance and Associate Dean of the PhD Program, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Tammy Samuels, Executive Director of Career and Leadership for MBA and Alumni and Interim Executive Director of Engagement and Inclusion, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Jeff Tucker, Chair, Board of Advisors, Kenan-Flagler Business School
  • Sriram Venkataraman, Professor of Marketing, Edward M. O’Herron Scholar and Assistant Dean of MBA@UNC, Kenan-Flagler Business School

School of Government

The following individuals have agreed to serve on the search committee for the Dean of the School of Government. The committee is chaired by Martin Brinkley, Dean, UNC School of Law.

  • Gale Adams, Superior Court Judge, Fayetteville
  • Rob Bryan, UNC Board of Trustees Member
  • Peg Carlson, Faculty, Distinguished Term POP, Public Leadership and Governance
  • Gene Davis, UNC Board of Trustees Member
  • Toogie Hampton, Director of Programming, Management, Administration and Leadership
  • Willow Jacobson, Distinguished Professor, MPA Program
  • Adam Lovelady, Associate Professor, Division of Law & Finance
  • Kevin Leonard, Executive Director of the NC Association of County Commissioners
  • Noreen McDonald, Chair, Department of City and Regional Planning
  • Chuck Neely, School of Government Foundation Board Member
  • Martha Paige, Morrisville Town Manager and former President of the Town Manager Association
  • Mike Piehler, Director, Institute for the Environment, Chief Sustainability Officer
  • Student Representative, on the alumni board and the student leadership council
  • William Rivenbark, Professor of Public Administration
  • Patricia (Tricia) Sullivan, Professor, Department of Public Policy
  • Jen Willis, Associate Dean for Development and Campaign Director, School of Government